Skip to main content


24 May 2022

ICPAU Unveils Beneficiaries of the 3rd Cohort of CPA Scholarships

The Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Uganda (ICPAU) has announced the award of Certified Public Accountants of Uganda (CPA) scholarships for students who applied in September 2021, under the third cohort. 10 beneficiaries were selected out of 265 applicants. The beneficiaries are fresh graduates from both public and private universities and they were selected based on their performance in their final examinations.

The Institute’s scholarship package covers registration, annual renewal examinations fees, as well as study material. The Institute has also partnered with training institutes that will cover tuition fees. These are Glory Professional Consultants and Trainers and MAT ABACUS. Students must complete the course within two and a half years.

The CPA scholarship programme was introduced in 2019, as part of the Institute’s Corporate Social Responsibility, to nurture young talent in the field of professional accountancy.

As part of the CPA learning framework, students are required to demonstrate their knowledge and skills through attaining practical experience. The major fields are financial reporting, management accounting, taxation, auditing, financial management, Information Technology, insolvency practice, communication skills, personal skills, and organisational skills.

Upon attaining the CPA qualification and the requisite experience, students become eligible to enrol for ICPAU membership, in accordance with the Accountants Act.

CPA Derick Nkajja, the Chief Executive Officer of ICPAU noted that professionalism in accountancy is key to enhancing good governance and accountability in organisations.

“The CPA course builds on foundational education to, impart technical and professional skills as well as the required values, attitudes and behaviour,” he said.

“Therefore, it is important that all accountants acquire these skills, if they are to enhance their competence,” he added.

Since the inception of the programme, 30 beneficiaries have been awarded scholarships.


The Institute has also launched the fourth cohort of the scholarship programme. University graduates from public and private chartered universities who have first class honours or second class honours (upper division) degrees are eligible. Applications will be received from 1 June to 31 July 2022 via


Editors’ Notes


ICPAU is the national professional accountancy organization, established in 1992 by an Act of Parliament, now the Accountants Act, 2013.  The functions of the Institute, as prescribed by the Act, are:

  1. To regulate and maintain the standard of accountancy in Uganda.
  2. To prescribe and regulate the conduct of accountants and practising accountants in Uganda.

ICPAU is a member of the International Federation of Accountants, the global organization for professional accountants.


For More Information



2021 Scholarships (Third cohort). Expected to write their first examinations in December 2022.







Alinda Charity Renela


Uganda Christian University

Bachelor of Public Administration & Management


Amon Vicky


Lira University

Bachelor of Business Administration


Murungi Lyonah


Makerere University Business School

Bachelor of Entrepreneurship & Small Business Management


Mwanje Lawrence


Mbarara University of Science & Technology

Bachelor of Science in Accounting & Finance


Nakasoma Carolyne sharon


Kyambogo University

Bachelor of Science in Accounting & Finance


Nalugo Hanifah


Makerere University

Bachelor of Science in Human Nutrition


Namwano Emmily


Uganda Martyrs University

Bachelor of Business Administration & Management


Nuwamanya Bruno


Mbarara University of Science & Technology

Bachelor of Science in Accounting & Finance


Okello Walter Haggard


Gulu University

Bachelor of Business Administration


Wochete Joseph


Makerere University

Bachelor of Commerce


2020 Scholarships (Second cohort). Enroled in February 2021, wrote first examinations in October 2021

  1. Racheal Nahurira - Makerere University
  2. Francis Mubiru - Kyambogo University
  3. Alex Kisakye - Makerere University
  4. John Michael Muyobo - Kyambogo University
  5. Precious Aheirwe - Kyambogo University
  6. Emmanuel Bugembe - Makerere University
  7. Mercy Orishaba - Uganda Christian University
  8. Jotham Wante - Makerere University
  9. Andrew Ocen - Kabale University
  10. Mary Carolyne Najjemba - Makerere University


2019 Scholarships (first cohort). Enroled in November 2019, wrote first examinations in December 2020.

  1. Ms. Irene Namusaazi - Makerere University
  2. Ms. Audrey Nshabire - Makerere University
  3. Ms. Catherine Namuyomba - Makerere University
  4. Mr. Charles Nasasira - Makerere University
  5. Mr. Isaac Matsiko - Mbarara University of Science and Technology
  6. Ms. Lillian Bukirwa - Mbarara University of Science and Technology
  7. Ms. Shalom Zaninka - Uganda Christian University
  8. Mr. Geofrey Bogere - Bugema University
  9. Mr. Beatrice Wanyirigira - Kyambogo University
  10. Mr. Douglas Tukamuhebwa - Ndejje University